Posted by: kidsbooksreviews | April 25, 2008

Coming Soon: My current reading list

I just got a new book order today, so I’ll be adding the following books as I finish them:

Small Steps by Louis Sachar (I also have Holes, which this is the sequel to, so I will probably post both at the same time. I”m actually using Holes in the classroom right now, so I’ll have a handful of student reviews to go along with it)

The Old Willis Place by Mary Downing Hahn

Three Good Deeds by Vivian Vande Velde

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli (I’ve got a ton of Spinelli that will go up eventually; this is just the one that happens to be on my “read soon” list)

Gossamer by Lois Lowry (Another author I’ve got tons and tons of and will have multiple reviews of, hopefully this summer)

Almost Home by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Here Lies the Librarian by Richard Peck (I just went through a handful of Peck’s books in the past week or two, so I’ll probably add A Long Way From Chicago, A Year Down Yonder, and maybe a few others at the same time)

A large part of this project will be to help catalog my own collection so I can help myself remember what I love about them, and what I don’t love about them. I’m torn on the idea of skipping the “classics”, because really, who doesn’t know Charlotte’s Web or most of Beverly Cleary’s work? Still, I know that not every teacher or parent reads every book, and sometimes we forget – Did Ramona wear pajamas to school in Ramona and her Mother or Ramona the Pest? I’ll probably focus on the newer titles first, and go from there. Series books might simply be lumped together for simplicity sake, although there are some series, like the Narnia Chronicles, that have some books that stand alone very well, or have some that might not be appropriate in an educational setting. The Last Battle, for example, is so full of religious references that I’ve never seen it used for instruction, even if it is kept in the classroom library, but most kids don’t make it through elementary school without reading The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Categories

